Me Time!

I worry (and I know others share this worry) about how I (or they) will ever find time for me in this home educating journey.

A few weeks ago, it finally occured to me that I don’t have to get that time during the 9-3 school week.  Well that opened things up a bit, but still…

But the last few days have been a revelation. There was a blog post on a forum that I read. It got me thinking that indeed I do have a great deal of freedom. We have few external constraints on how we spend our time. A few internal ones, but we are working on that. 🙂

And then I came across my Momspa book and Visual Discovery Journal (a title I find so much more grand than ‘scrapbook’ ) and I started to get it.

What I am craving is space for myself within my own life.  I need to use the a mug given to me by a friend for my morning coffee, and enjoy that, even as I try to remember the 20 things I was supposed to get  done today. I need to enjoy chilled water, put up pictures I love, go places I want to go sometimes. And the children will be there, but not the focus. I’m doing it – however small ‘it’ may be – for me.

I’m not sure how this is going to go. I think it’s an ongoing journey. One I have been on for a while, and will be for a while yet. But the next step for me is taking my coffee outside so I can hear the birds in the morning. What about you?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. michelle
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 11:23:59

    mine is putting on a sports bra when we go for our afternoon walk and/or bike ride up the street. Then it can be good exercise for me when they are happy to sit in the pram or ride at speed. I have a strong need for exercise at the moment and although I am able to get to the gym a couple of times a week, being able to take advantage of bits of time for exercising is a new idea for me.

    thank for the challenge!

    Reply

  2. belindaandboys
    Mar 15, 2010 @ 23:38:27

    That’s a great idea, Michelle. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Musings on Mother’s Day: From the cafe where I have run to escape from my children « Love, Learn, Laugh

Leave a Reply

