Family Matters: Why Homeschooling Makes Sense

I just read Family Matters: Why Homeschooling Makes Sense by David Guterson. David Guterson was a high-school teacher who chose to home educate his children. (He also wrote Snow Falling on Cedars) It wasn’t bad – a lot of it was things I knew already, given my background and previous reading. But the final chapter was the one that really got me. Called ‘A Life’s Work’, this chapter is about how home education meets his needs as a father for connection with his children, as well as the children’s need for connection with their parents.

Progressives in the political arena, doing daily battle to rehumanize capitalism, have given us shorter working days, medical insurance, maternity leave, and child care. Progressives have made it steadily more convenient for ordinary people to perform their economic functions without children getting in the way…. The children suffer a loss of connectedness, a detachment from the web of communal affairs, a distance from from the life and work of the tribe – and at least as important, we miss them, too, for similar reasons….

In the end there are reasons beyond education to homeschool (Can we really detach education from everything else)… There is a love to be cultivated, an instict to be nutured, a need to be satisfied at both ends.

It was fascinating for me because I so often come at this from the direction of motherhood. After all, that is where I am at, and it is also what I have read on and studied. The different perspective was really interesting and very meaningful to me. There is a lot to think about in this idea of adults needing their children as much as children need their adults… I shall be thinking about this all day, I think.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kara
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 11:36:21

    I totally get this Belinda, when M’s at kindy I really miss her, I can’t imagine her gone for a whole school week. She loves kindy but she hates being away from us for such a long time.

    Reply

    • belindaandboys
      Jun 10, 2010 @ 09:37:02

      I can imagine! I think it definately keeps you more grounded in reality too. I had some wierd ideas before I had children – that had nothing to do with real life, LOL.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

