Kitchen Gadgets for Children

I’ve already told you about my mortar and pestle, last week we bought a new gadget, and I wanted to share. The melon baller! Of course we had to buy a melon to try it out. Yes, it will be the last one of the season.

I use kitchen gadgets with kids because they are fun, they let the boys do things they otherwise couldn’t, they help them prepare their own snacks (and sometimes eat new things), and they are great for fine motor skills. I got the idea for introducing them from the Micheal Olaf catalogue. I keep an eye out for good ones everywhere, and I’ve had a lot of luck at Ikea. The main thing to look for is that they are real tools, not just toys and that they are small enough for them to be used comfortably.

The favourites in our house are:

  • Melon baller – apparently you can use them for making butter balls too, though I haven’t tried it – yet!
  • Mortar and pestle
  • Biscuit cutters – use with sandwiches and playdough too.
  • Apple cutter – We got this at Ikea but I can’t find it online now. I’ve seen similar in Kitchen shops
  • Tongs – My children love dishing up their own salad or whatever at the dinner table.
  • Small ‘creamer’ jug – perfect for pouring practise.

I really want to get some children’s chopsticks I’ve seen. We use chopsticks sometimes, and I know the boys would like to learn. Many years ago, a Cantonese friend made a training pair for another friend by linking to tops of them with a rubber band, but I’ve never got it to work. I think these would be the next best thing. So if you see them, let me know! It just doesn’t seem worth paying more for postage than the actual thing!

Do you have any favourite kitchen gadgets your children use?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Snack Time Part 2 « Love, Learn, Laugh
  2. Michelle
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:24:37

    A mutual friend and I were discussing today where to get decent knives for younger kids, any ideas?

    Reply

    • Belinda
      Dec 18, 2012 @ 00:52:41

      A simple beginners table knife can be bought fairly cheaply at Ikea. This will cut softish food. After that, I move on to an adult knife, with a short blade and a rounded tip. It came with my knife set, Google tells me it is a vegetable knife. A paring knife usually has a good sized blade, but can have a very sharp point at the tip. It is probably worth buying one from a kitchen shop as you will use if for some time.

      Stay tuned, I am working on a post on using knives. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

